siryouarebeingmocked:

kick-the-aj:

invenblocker:

alaija:

lornagonigall:

shedsk1n:

terfyfem:

siryouarebeingmocked:

terfyfem:

celestial-naiad:

terfyfem:

lornagonigall:

Men can be raped, and the law should reflect that

Very few countries criminalise the rape of men, at the hands of both men and women, and it needs to change.

I’m pretty sure rape is illegal in most countries

Yeah but some places define rape as only “forced penetration” which means only WOMEN are recognized as victims of rape. And there’s also the fact that plenty of feminist icons also downplay male victims traumatizing experiences as “not as traumatic” as women’s or think men can’t be raped in general. Being a condecsending asswipe about it just proves we need to talk about this more. So uh, thanks for that.

Wich feminist icons downplay male victims?

Every single feminist who’s ever described rape as “violence against women” springs to mind.

I mean, when a men raped a women it is violence against women?

My god you fuckers are exhausting lol y’all want everyone (but especially feminists) to specify every little notch or asterisk in a statement “violence against women and men and queer nb femmes and genderlibs with ‘front holes’ and tree/treeself prounouns and”

Rape is violence against women. It is not wrong for us to frame this as a female only phenomenon in the context of a conversation that’s already about women. You know it happens to men, you don’t need me to say it for it to be true and a fact. Y’all use this tactic to derail us and “not all men” our intracommunity discussions and it’s tired.

First of all, nobody brought up neogenders. YOU did, so don’t say we started to spout that bullshit.

Rape is forced sexual intercourse against someone without their consent, or consent obtained under duress. The problem is, many laws consider it a female only problem, or that women can’t rape men.

And secondly, this post is about men being victims of rape, so this wasn’t contextualised in the conversation of violence against women, you’re trying to frame it as such.

Thirdly, it seems like a female only phenomenon in wider society because women are more likely to report their rape to the police than men are, because male on female rape is a crime, whereas female/male on male isn’t; which is a problem, as many don’t consider it a crime.

Also, nobody brought up “not all men”, where the fuck are you getting that from? Nobody has mentioned that in this thread.

It is not wrong for us to frame this as a female only phenomenon …”

You know it happens to men, you don’t need me to say it…”

 I can’t speak for others, but I tend to take issue with people not telling the truth.

Framing it as a female only phenomonon when it is not only not true but you are fully aware it is not true, is lying.

Y’all use this tactic to derail us and “not all men” our intracommunity discussions and it’s tired.

You say while coming onto a non-feminist post and “derailing”.

You think that national level policy is “intracommunity discussion”?

Have you tried not being a hypocritical fuckwit for five minutes?

Didn’t feminist groups oppose gender neutral rape laws on the grounds that men would be able to use them to falsely accuse women?

Also can we talk abt how one of the commentators straight up said in the context of women when this post was specifically about male rape

They were trying to imply it’s okay for feminists to act like rape is all about women, because rape is about women.

Which seems like circular lolgic to me.